On this page

AI Recorder Warranty & Returns: The Landscape, Compared

AI Recorder Guide editorial teamFact-checked September 2026Updated Sep 12, 202612 min read
A recorder with its warranty card and receipt after unboxing

AI voice recorders are a young device category, and a large share are bought direct from the maker rather than through a retailer. That changes the protection math. When you buy from a store, the store's return desk is your first line of recourse; when you buy direct from a maker, the maker's own policy page is the entire contract. If that page is thin, vague, or missing, you have no fallback.

The honest framing up front: we have not hands-on-tested any of these devices, and we have not filed a claim with any maker. What follows is a comparison of the published warranty and return policies of ten brands, every figure attributed to the brand's own policy page, retrieved 2026-09-12. Where a maker publishes no hardware warranty policy, we say so plainly — because in this category, "no published policy" is itself a finding.

The stakes are real: a warranty that runs 18 months and a return window that closes in five days are not the same protection, and the difference is rarely visible on a product listing. This page maps the full landscape so you can check the window before you buy, not after.

The short version

The landscape at a glance

The table below combines each brand's published warranty length, return window, who pays return shipping on a change-of-mind return, and the stated refund processing time. Every cell is drawn from the brand's own policy page; where a maker publishes no figure, the cell says so.

Brand (device)Warranty lengthReturn windowReturn shipping (change-of-mind)Refund processing
PLAUD (Note)12 months from delivery30 daysFree return shipping (badge)5–10 business days
Mobvoi TicNote1 year from receipt30 daysCustomer pays (non-quality)Within 10 business days
soundcore (Work D3200)Badge only — no length publishedUndamaged, full refundBuyer covers non-qualityNot stated (no day count)
HeyPocket (Pocket)1 year from delivery30 daysCustomer pays (unless error/warranty)5–10 business days
HiDock (P1)18 months from delivery30 daysBuyer covers non-qualityWithin 5 business days
Notta (Memo)Badge only — no policy page30 days (EU: 14)Label provided; payer unstatedWithin 10 business days
iFLYTEK (SR302 Pro)1 year, replacement only30 calendar daysCustomer covers change-of-mind3–15 business days
Omi (Based Hardware)1 year from delivery5 days (discretionary)Customer pays (unless error/warranty)5–10 business days
Vibe (Dot)12 months from activationNo consumer window publishedYou bear transportationNot stated
Vocci (Ring)1 yr non-EEA / 2 yr EEA14 daysRe-boxing fee + shippingWithin 14 working days

The details

Warranty lengths explained

The most striking thing about this category is how little the warranty terms agree. The longest published warranty in our set is HiDock's 18 months, which its policy states starts "when the product(s) is delivered to the first end-user" and covers the P1 "excluding Gift Card" (hidock.com/pages/warranty-policy). The most common length is one year: PLAUD entitles buyers to "12 months of warranty service" from delivery (plaud.ai/pages/product-warranty), TicNote covers "free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use for a period of one(1) year from the date you receive the product" (ticnote.ai/pages/warranty-policy), and HeyPocket's terms state "free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use for one (1) year from delivery" (heypocket.com/pages/terms-of-sale §8.1).

Our pick plaud note Check price on Amazon As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Price & availability shown on Amazon.com.

Two makers run their clocks differently. Vibe's warranty runs "twelve (12) months from the date of activation of the hardware product," and if the device is not activated within 60 days of purchase, it becomes "fifteen (15) months from the date of Vibe's shipment" (vibe.us/warranty/). Vocci splits by region: "a one-year warranty for non-EEA (European Economic Area (EEA)) countries and a two-year warranty for EEA countries from the delivery date" (vocci.ai/pages/product-warranty).

Two more are worth calling out for what they do not say. iFLYTEK's warranty is replacement-only, not repair: "One-Year Replacement Only… iFLYTEK commits to providing a replacement unit rather than a repair" (store.iflytek.com/pages/return-refund-policy). And two majors publish no hardware warranty policy at all: Notta's product page shows only a badge reading "30-Day Return … One-Year Warranty Lifetime Customer Support" with no warranty policy page behind it (shop.notta.ai/en-us/products/notta-memo), and soundcore's Work D3200 carries a "Hassle-Free Warranty" badge with no length, while the general soundcore clause covers "All quality-related defects on items sold directly by soundcore or soundcore's authorized resellers" under "an 18-month warranty" — but the category table has no recorder row (soundcore.com/products/d3200-soundcore-work-ai-voice-recorder; us.soundcore.com/pages/warranty). The honesty angle: when a maker advertises a warranty but publishes no terms, the badge is marketing, not a contract you can enforce.

Warranty coverage periods compared as a calendar mosaic
Warranty coverage periods compared as a calendar mosaic

Going deeper

Return windows compared

Return windows cluster around 30 days, with two clear outliers. PLAUD offers a "30-day no-reason return: Within 30 days from the date of receipt… receive a full refund" (plaud.ai/policies/refund-policy). TicNote lets you "request a return within 30 days after receiving your item" (ticnote.ai/policies/refund-policy). HeyPocket's window runs "within thirty (30) days of the carrier-confirmed delivery date" (heypocket.com/pages/terms-of-sale §6.1). HiDock's "30-Day Risk Free Return Policy" applies "within 30 days from the date that you receive the package" (hidock.com/pages/refund-policy). Notta gives "30 days after receiving your item to request a return" (shop.notta.ai/en-us/policies/refund-policy). iFLYTEK accepts "returns within 30 calendar days of delivery for any reason, as long as the product is free from human-induced damage" (store.iflytek.com/pages/return-refund-policy). soundcore states "Undamaged products can be returned for a full refund, regardless of the reason" (us.soundcore.com/pages/warranty).

The outliers matter more than the cluster. Vocci's window is shorter — "accept return/exchange without reason within 14 days since you receive the goods" (vocci.ai/policies/shipping-policy). And Omi is the outlier that deserves a warning: its policy requires that "you must request a return within five (5) days of the date of delivery," and adds that "Submitting a return request does not guarantee a refund… approval is at Omi's discretion" (omi.me/policies/refund-policy). A five-day window with discretionary approval is the tightest, least certain return path in this set — check it before you buy from Omi, not after.

Two region notes apply across the set. Notta's EU policy grants "cancel or return your order within 14 days" (shop.notta.ai/en-us/policies/refund-policy), and Omi's EU/UK policy allows returns "within fourteen (14) days of delivery… in place of the five-day initiation window" (omi.me/policies/refund-policy). If you are in the EU or UK, statutory cooling-off rights override the maker's shorter window on these two.

Practical guidance

The fine print that costs money

Beyond the window, several makers reserve the right to deduct fees from your refund. These are policy terms, not product prices — the amounts a maker may keep when a return is not in pristine condition. The table below collects every published deduction we found, each attributed to its policy page.

BrandPublished deductionPolicy page
iFLYTEKOpened box: "$20 Restocking Fee"; missing parts: "$20 Fee + Accessory Replacement Cost"store.iflytek.com/pages/return-refund-policy
soundcore"If the product has been opened, but not used, we may make a 10% deduction" (projectors/accessories)us.soundcore.com/pages/warranty
HeyPocket"a deduction from the refund for reasonable restocking or refurbishment costs"heypocket.com/pages/terms-of-sale §6.3–6.6
Omi"deduction from the refund for restocking or refurbishment costs"omi.me/policies/refund-policy
TicNote"a packaging fee will be deducted from the refund" if packaging lost/damagedticnote.ai/policies/refund-policy
VocciOther returns: "a re-boxing fee and shipping costs"; used items: "a refurbishing compensation fee"vocci.ai/policies/refund-policy

The wrap-up

Amazon vs buying direct

There are two separate protections at play, and buyers often confuse them. Amazon's marketplace return right is a 30-day window: "Most items can be returned for a refund or replacement/exchange within 30 days of delivery as long as they are in original or unused condition" (Amazon Return Policy, retrieved 2026-09-12). That is your easiest first-30-days path — Amazon handles the return, and refunds "can take up to 30 days" depending on order type and processing (Amazon, nodeId=901926).

The maker warranty is a separate, often longer protection. HiDock's 18-month warranty outlasts Amazon's 30-day window by a year and a half, and PLAUD's 12-month warranty by eleven months. But here is the catch that changes the practical rule: brand policies frequently apply only to direct-store purchases. HiDock's warranty is "only valid for products purchased at hidock.com" (hidock.com/pages/warranty-policy), and HeyPocket's terms state "Purchases made from third-party sellers or resellers are not eligible" (heypocket.com/pages/terms-of-sale §8.1). Vocci's policy requires "the original order number generated from your purchase on our official Shopify store. This is the sole credential" (vocci.ai/policies/refund-policy).

The practical rule that follows: an Amazon purchase gives you the easiest first-30-days return path, and after that window closes you go through the brand's RMA process with proof of purchase — provided the brand honors third-party purchases at all. If the maker's warranty is direct-store-only, an Amazon purchase may leave you with Amazon's 30-day window and nothing after it. Check the maker's policy before you decide where to buy.

PLAUD Note options on AmazonPaid link · As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases · How we are paid

Context

A five-point buyer checklist

Before you buy any AI recorder, run this checklist. It costs nothing and protects the two things that matter: your money in the first weeks, and your warranty claim in the months after.

  1. Keep proof of purchase. Every maker in our set that honors a warranty requires it. PLAUD requires "a valid device serial number and proof of purchase" (plaud.ai/pages/product-warranty); soundcore requires "sufficient proof of purchase" (us.soundcore.com/pages/warranty); HiDock excludes "Products without sufficient proof of purchase" (hidock.com/pages/warranty-policy). Save the order confirmation and the invoice.
  2. Register where required. Vibe's warranty page advises: "You should always register the Hardware Product in your Vibe User Center account. If you do not register… you may be required to present proof of purchase" (vibe.us/warranty/). If a maker offers registration, do it the day the device arrives.
  3. Photograph the condition at unboxing. Several makers inspect before refunding — soundcore requires "Inspection required prior to refund" (us.soundcore.com/pages/warranty), and Omi calls its inspection "final" (omi.me/policies/refund-policy). A dated photo of the device and packaging at unboxing is cheap evidence if a dispute arises.
  4. Check the window before buying from a five-day-window maker. Omi's five-day, discretionary-approval window is the tightest in our set (omi.me/policies/refund-policy). If you cannot test the device within five days of delivery, that maker is a risk.
  5. Keep the packaging until the return date passes. TicNote deducts "a packaging fee" if packaging is lost or damaged (ticnote.ai/policies/refund-policy), and iFLYTEK charges a restocking fee on opened boxes (store.iflytek.com/pages/return-refund-policy). The box and accessories are part of the return contract.
TicNote options on AmazonPaid link · As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases · How we are paid
Return windows of varying lengths visualized as calendar pages
Return windows of varying lengths visualized as calendar pages
The items to keep for a smooth warranty or return claim
The items to keep for a smooth warranty or return claim

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Do these warranties transfer if I gift it?
Mostly no. HeyPocket's warranty is "not transferable" (heypocket.com/pages/terms-of-sale §8.1), and TicNote's warranty is for the "original purchaser only" (ticnote.ai/pages/warranty-policy). If you are buying a recorder as a gift, check the maker's transfer terms before you choose — a non-transferable warranty means the recipient cannot claim under it.
What happens after Amazon's 30 days?
You move from Amazon's marketplace return right to the maker's warranty process. Amazon's 30-day window is the easiest path while it lasts; after it closes, a claim goes through the brand's RMA with proof of purchase. The catch is that several makers — HiDock, HeyPocket, Vocci — apply their warranties only to direct-store purchases, so an Amazon purchase may leave you with no maker warranty after day 30. Check the maker's policy before buying on Amazon.
Which maker has the longest warranty?
HiDock's 18-month warranty is the longest in our set, running from delivery to the first end-user (hidock.com/pages/warranty-policy). Vocci's two-year EEA warranty is longer for EU/UK buyers, but drops to one year outside the EEA (vocci.ai/pages/product-warranty). Most of the rest offer one year.
Which maker has the shortest return window?
Omi, by a wide margin — five days from delivery, with approval at Omi's discretion (omi.me/policies/refund-policy). Vocci's 14-day window is the next shortest. Every other maker in our set gives at least 30 days.
Do any makers charge restocking or packaging fees?
Yes. iFLYTEK charges a "$20 Restocking Fee" on opened boxes and a "$20 Fee + Accessory Replacement Cost" for missing parts (store.iflytek.com/pages/return-refund-policy); soundcore may make "a 10% deduction" on opened-but-unused items (us.soundcore.com/pages/warranty); TicNote deducts "a packaging fee" for lost or damaged packaging (ticnote.ai/policies/refund-policy); and HeyPocket and Omi reserve the right to deduct restocking or refurbishment costs (heypocket.com/pages/terms-of-sale §6.3–6.6; omi.me/policies/refund-policy).
Do any makers publish no warranty policy at all?
Two of the ten. Notta's product page shows only a "One-Year Warranty" badge with no warranty policy page behind it (shop.notta.ai/en-us/products/notta-memo), and soundcore's Work D3200 carries a "Hassle-Free Warranty" badge with no length and no recorder row in its warranty table (soundcore.com/products/d3200-soundcore-work-ai-voice-recorder; us.soundcore.com/pages/warranty). A badge without published terms is marketing, not a contract. <!-- IMAGE 4: proof-of-purchase-checklist.webp -->

Keep reading