Skip to content
AI Recorder Guide
Menu
Review

Comu Action Pro Review 2026: 70-Hour Battery, Free Transcription

WIRED crowned its predecessor; the Action Pro answers with a screen, a 70-hour battery, and unlimited free transcription. We weighed every verified fact — including the 16 GB downgrade nobody mentions.

Affiliate disclosure: AI Recorder Guide participates in Amazon Associates. Some Amazon links are paid links, and we may earn from qualifying purchases. Rankings remain editorial. How we are paid.
By the AI Recorder Guide editorial teamPublished October 2026Evidence synthesis — no hands-on testing claimsMethodology
On this page

The short answer

A 70-hour battery card with a genuinely free transcription tier — and an identity crisis worth understanding before you buy

Verdict: the Comu Action Pro ($179.99 on sale, $256.99 list, verified Oct 31 2026) is the successor to the Comulytic Note Pro — the device WIRED named best overall AI notetaker in February and again on October 20, 2026. The Action Pro keeps the card format and adds a 0.95-inch screen, a 6-mic array, and a 70-hour battery [SPEC], with unlimited transcription on the free Starter tier — a claim no PLAUD tier matches. The open questions are honest ones: early reviews split on whether the AI layer justifies the price (9to5Google says it “struggles to justify its AI premium”; Windows Central called it the subscription-killer), and it is a young product from a company mid-rebrand (Comulytic → Comu). Buy it for battery, price-under-$180, and free transcription; buy the PLAUD Note Pro for the mature ecosystem.

Check the Comu Action Pro on AmazonPaid link · As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases
A slim black credit-card-sized voice recorder with a small screen resting on a light oak desk beside a notebook
Illustrative — not the actual product
52 g, 0.95-inch screen, 70-hour battery: the Comu Action Pro card format. AI-generated illustration, not the actual product.

What the Comu Action Pro is

Comu is the company formerly known as Comulytic — the rebrand is confirmed on its own app page (“Comulytic is becoming Comu”) [SPEC]. The Action Pro is the successor to the Comulytic Note Pro (Notebookcheck), and that lineage matters: the Note Pro is the device WIRED named “Best Overall AI Notetaker” in its February 8, 2026 guide and again in the October 20, 2026 update — praising the 28 g card’s 64 GB, 45-hour battery, LCD screen, and roughly $15/mo subscription, at a $129 price that undercuts PLAUD [REVIEW]. The predecessor is still on sale at the old Comulytic shop ($109.69–$128.99 sale vs $158.99 regular at read time), so today you can buy three generations of the same idea: Note Pro, Action Pro, or both in a $324 two-pack [SPEC].

The Action Pro’s job is to justify an upgrade over that well-reviewed predecessor: it adds the screen, a longer battery (70 hours vs 45), and a reworked AI stack — while dropping onboard storage to 16 GB from the Note Pro’s 64 GB [SPEC]. That last trade-off is the kind of detail launch marketing does not volunteer; it is visible only when you read both spec sheets, which is what we did.

Spec snapshot

Comu Action Pro at a glance
SpecClaimed / verified
Price$179.99 sale / $256.99 regular (store.comu.com, Oct 31 2026); promos have hit $169.99; 2-pack $324 [SPEC]
AmazonOfficial listing live: Sold by Comu Official Store, FBA, In Stock, 4.7★/53 ratings [SPEC]
Form factorCard with 0.95-inch screen; 52 g; MagSafe-compatible [SPEC]
BatteryUp to 70 h recording per charge [SPEC]
Storage16 GB [SPEC] — down from 64 GB on the Comulytic Note Pro
MicrophonesAdaptive 6-mic array [SPEC]
Languages113 [SPEC]
ConnectivityBluetooth 5; USB-C charging; MP3 recording [SPEC]
Water resistanceNot stated by the manufacturer as of Oct 31 2026 — unknown, not claimed
Free tierStarter $0 with device: unlimited real-time transcription + basic summaries, 500 agent credits/mo [SPEC]
Paid tiersPremium $14.99/mo or $119.99/yr; Elite $29.99/mo or $359.99/yr [SPEC]

The plan model is credits, not minutes

This is the spec that separates Comu from every PLAUD-style competitor we track in our subscription comparison: transcription is unlimited on every tier, including free. What you pay for is AI work — “agent credits.” Starter includes 500 credits a month; Premium ($14.99/mo, $119.99/yr) raises it to 5,000 and unlocks unlimited translations, deep-dives, pre-summaries, an industry glossary, and flagship LLMs (ChatGPT 5.6 Sol, Claude 4.8, per Comu’s plan page); Elite ($29.99/mo, $359.99/yr) goes to 40,000 credits plus agent workflows that produce decks, emails, and documents. Credit top-ups run 10k/$9.99 to 140k/$99.99 [SPEC].

For a buyer who records a lot but summarizes little, that model beats per-minute pricing outright — our transcription-minutes calculator shows how fast 300-minute tiers run out for anyone with daily meetings. For a buyer who leans on summaries and speaker labels, the question becomes whether 500 free credits a month covers a normal week — and Comu does not publish a credits-per-summary conversion, which is the single biggest unknown in the plan math [UNKNOWN].

What the early reviewers say

Nine substantive independent reviews exist as of Oct 31, 2026, several from September–October — this is a reviewed device, not a promise. The split:

Review verdict digest
SourceWhat it found
9to5Google (Sep 10, 2026)“A great meeting recorder that struggles to justify its AI premium” — hardware praised, AI pricing questioned [REVIEW]
Windows CentralPositive — “I ditched my expensive transcription subscription for a $170 AI credit-card-sized recorder” [REVIEW]
Notebookcheck (EN)Full lab-style test of the Action Pro [REVIEW]
How-To Geek / Pocket-lintHands-on reviews, both filed 2026 [REVIEW]
golem.de (German)Critical — transcription works, but summaries arrive as “Buchstabensalat” (alphabet soup) [REVIEW]
atlabyte roundupNamed Action Pro its top pick across a dozen devices [REVIEW]

Read together: the recording hardware is consensus-good, the AI layer divides reviewers along the line of what you already pay for transcription. If you are replacing an Otter or PLAUD subscription, the free-tier math is the story; if you expected finished minutes from a $180 card with no subscription, temper that.

Action Pro or the WIRED-picked Note Pro?

Because the Comulytic Note Pro is still sold, the real comparison is inside one company. WIRED’s best-overall crown sits on the Note Pro ($129 list, frequently ~$110 on sale): 28 g, 64 GB, 45-hour battery, LCD, sub ~$15/mo [REVIEW]. The Action Pro ($179.99 sale): 52 g, 16 GB, 70-hour battery, bigger screen, credit-based free transcription [SPEC]. The honest framing: buy the Note Pro for storage and the pedigree of the WIRED-tested design; buy the Action Pro for battery, the screen, and the unlimited-transcription free tier. Neither choice is wrong; paying Action Pro money without knowing the Note Pro exists would be.

Who should buy it

Buy it if: you want the longest-rated battery in the card class, a screen so you can see recording state without a phone, and unlimited free transcription — especially if you are already paying any monthly transcription bill.

Wait if: you need water-resistance (unrated), want proven summary quality (German-language testing found it shaky), or want the deepest ecosystem — our PLAUD Note Pro review covers the incumbent, and our no-subscription guide frames the whole category.

We will track owner reports as they accumulate — the same discipline as our Vocci Ring review.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Comu Action Pro on Amazon?
Yes — an official listing is live, sold by the Comu Official Store and fulfilled by Amazon (4.7★ from 53 ratings at read time). Amazon currently files it under Musical Instruments rather than voice recorders, so search can be unreliable; the direct product link on this page goes to the right listing.
Do I need a subscription?
No. The free Starter tier includes unlimited real-time transcription and basic summaries, with 500 AI-agent credits a month. Paid tiers (Premium $14.99/mo, Elite $29.99/mo) buy more AI work — translations, deep-dives, flagship models — not more transcription minutes [SPEC].
How is it different from the Comulytic Note Pro?
The Note Pro is the predecessor that WIRED named best overall AI notetaker in 2026 — lighter (28 g vs 52 g), more storage (64 GB vs 16 GB), shorter battery (45 h vs 70 h), and it is still on sale at the Comulytic shop. The Action Pro adds a screen, the 6-mic array, and the credit-based plan model [SPEC].
How does it compare to the PLAUD Note Pro?
Different bets at similar money. PLAUD ($189) has the mature ecosystem, 4-mic array, 64 GB, and a 300-min free tier; the Comu ($179.99 sale) counters with 70-hour battery, a screen on the card, and unlimited free transcription. See our PLAUD Note Pro review for the incumbent case.
What we could not verify
Water-resistance rating (not stated by the manufacturer), battery capacity in mAh, and a credits-to-summaries conversion rate. Amazon’s displayed USD price was geo-blocked from our reader at read time; the $179.99 sale price is from Comu’s own store, verified Oct 31, 2026. We will update as those become verifiable.

Keep reading